Data catalogue

City Wards

The City of Toronto is divided into 44 wards for the purpose of electing City Councillors. *Ward boundaries are established by City Council. Each ward is further subdivided into a number of voting subdivisions (there are approximately 1,650 voting subdivisions in total). Voting subdivisions could be linked to city blocks or individual addresses in the case of an apartment or condominium building. Ward and subdivision boundaries do not overlap each other.

*The current wards were established by the Province of Ontario based on the 22 federal ridings which existed in 1997. City Council split the federal ridings in half to create the current 44 wards.


This data set includes the boundaries for the City of Toronto's 44 municipal wards.

Data download

Back to: City government