Data catalogue

Former Municipality Boundaries

Field Name - Description/Definition
AREA_ID - Internal geographic identifier
AREA_NAME - Name of the former municipality
OBJECTID - Internal unique object ID

This data is a GIS file that outlines the geographical area of the former six municipalities in the City of Toronto.

This data set is used for historical purposes and reflects the former level of municipal government that existed when the six former Municipalities where in place (i.e. Etobicoke, North York, Scarborough, York, East York and former Toronto). Today it is often referred to and sometimes still used by city divisions or citizens.


This is the final version and has been retired and replaced with the ONE City of Toronto Boundary.

Data download

Back to: City government