Social Development

Community Development

The City of Toronto has designated 31 of its 140 social planning neighbourhoods as Neighbourhood Improvement Areas (NIAs) as part of the Toronto Strong Neighbourhoods Strategy 2020. This work is part of a larger City strategy to build stronger neighbourhoods in Toronto. Work is now beginning in the NIAs to activate people and organizations, appropriate resources and neighbourhood-aware policies at multiple levels.

Watch this page for new updates and content on the implementation of our neighbourhood-based work.

Learn More

ExpandToronto Strong Neighbourhoods Strategy 2020

TSNS 2020 supports healthy communities across Toronto by partnering with residents, businesses and agencies to invest in people, services, programs and facilities in specific neighbourhoods. This will strengthen the social, economic and physical conditions and deliver local impact for city-wide change.

Read More

ExpandThe Team

Community Development Officers
Name Area/responsibility Email Telephone number
Rosemary Bell    Rosemary.Bell@toronto.ca 416-392-9483
Melody Brown    Melody.Brown@toronto.ca 416-894-3819
Tonya Hopkinson    Tonya.Hopkinson@toronto.ca 416-320-8636
Rose-Ann Bailey    Rose-Ann.Bailey@toronto.ca 416-888-2483
Janvere Lyder    Janvere.Lyder@toronto.ca 416--216-2152
Rebecca Bassey    Rebecca.Bassey@toronto.ca 416-895-9230
Sherry Phillips    Sherry.Phillips@toronto.ca 416-892-3119
Wayne Robinson    Wayne.Robinson@toronto.ca 416-206-1553
Melodie Anderson 1652 Keele Hub  Melodie.Anderson@toronto.ca 416-392-2981