Social Development

Community Development

The City of Toronto has designated 31 of its 140 social planning neighbourhoods as Neighbourhood Improvement Areas (NIAs) as part of the Toronto Strong Neighbourhoods Strategy 2020. This work is part of a larger City strategy to build stronger neighbourhoods in Toronto. Work is now beginning in the NIAs to activate people and organizations, appropriate resources and neighbourhood-aware policies at multiple levels.

Watch this page for new updates and content on the implementation of our neighbourhood-based work.

Learn More

ExpandToronto Strong Neighbourhoods Strategy 2020

TSNS 2020 supports healthy communities across Toronto by partnering with residents, businesses and agencies to invest in people, services, programs and facilities in specific neighbourhoods. This will strengthen the social, economic and physical conditions and deliver local impact for city-wide change.

Read More

ExpandThe Team

Community Development Officers
Name Area/responsibility Email Telephone number

Rosemary Bell

  • #24 Black Creek,
  • #25 Glenfield-Jane Heights ,
  • #26 Downsview-Roding-CFB,
  • #27 York University Heights
 Rosemary.Bell@toronto.ca

416-889-9483

Melody Brown

  • #112 Beechborough-Greenbrook,
  • #113 Weston,
  • #115 Mount Dennis,
  • #110 Keelesdale-Eglinton West,
  • #111 Rockcliffe-Smythe

 Melody.Brown@toronto.ca

416-894-3819

Tonya Hopkinson

  • #6 Kingsview Village-The Westway,
  • #91 Weston-Pelham Park,
  • #28 Rustic

 Tonya.Hopkinson@toronto.ca

416-320-8636

Janvere Lyder

  • #124 Kennedy Park,
  • #125 Birchmount Eglinton East (Ionview),
  • #138 Eglinton East,
  • #121 Oakridge,
  • #61 Taylor Massey (Crescent Town), Toronto Seniors Forum (TSF)

 Janvere.Lyder@toronto.ca

416-216-2152

Rebecca Bassey

  • Lawrence Heights (Revitalization),
  • #43 Victoria Village,
  • #44 Flemingdon Park,
  • #55 Thorncliffe Park

 Rebecca.Bassey@toronto.ca

416-895-9230

Sherry Phillips

  • #135 Morningside (Kingston Galloway Orton Park), 
  • #136 West Hill,
  • #137 Woburn,
  • #139 Scarborough Village

 Sherry.Phillips@toronto.ca

416-892-3119

Wayne Robinson

  • #2 Mount Olive-Silverstone-Jamestown,
  • #3 Thistletown-Beaumond Heights,
  • #5 Elms-Old Rexdale,
  • #21 Humber Summit,
  • #22 Humbermede

 Wayne.Robinson@toronto.ca

416-206-1553

Melodie Anderson

1652 Keele Hub

 Melodie.Anderson@toronto.ca

416-392-2981

 John Smith (Manager)

  •  South District NIAs:
  • #72 Regent Park,
  • #85 South Parkdale POL 2 Resident Advisory Committee

 John.Smith@toronto.ca

 416-206-1554