Living In Toronto

City of Toronto Awards

The City of Toronto has a large and varied selection of awards, celebrating the best of Toronto. From architecture to literature, eco-friendly businesses to community groups, green innovations to community initiatives. Find out how you can nominate and celebrate the people, places and events that make Toronto the great city that it is.

Community Recognition Awards


Access, Equity and Human Rights Awards

The City of Toronto's Access, Equity and Human Rights (AEHR) Awards recognize people who, or programs that, have made a difference in Toronto by eliminating discrimination and barriers to equality.

A1605965_TBA Graphic for City Website_V1.jpg

Toronto Book Awards

Established by Toronto City Council in 1974, the Toronto Book Awards honour authors of books of literary or artistic merit that are evocative of Toronto. The annual awards offer $15,000 in prize money: finalists receive $1,000 and the winning author is awarded $10,000. This year marks the 43rd anniversary of the Toronto Book Awards.

Livegreen Awards

Live Green Toronto Awards

Each year, the City recognizes the people, groups and businesses that are helping to create a greener, more sustainable Toronto.

Example Mid Rise Bloor

Toronto Urban Design Awards

Every other year, the City of Toronto holds Urban Design Awards to acknowledge the significant contribution that architects, landscape architects, urban designers, artists, design students, and city builders make to the look and livability of our city.

Public Health Champion Awards Logo

Public Health Champion Awards

The nomination period for the 2017 Public Health Champion Awards is open until April 30. Nominate health leaders in your community. Find out more about the award, who is eligible and how to nominate.

Mayor's Community Safety Awards

Mayor's Community Safety Awards

Mayor's Community Safety Awards recognize the contributions of individuals and groups that have worked to make Toronto's communities safer.

Agnes Macphail

Agnes Macphail Award

The Agnes Campbell Macphail award is given each year to a East York resident that has made contributions as a volunteer to: women's rights, fairness to seniors, criminal justice system and penal reform, international peace and disarmament, and/or access to adequate housing, healthcare and education.