Developing Toronto

Committee of Adjustment

Toronto City Council has appointed a Committee of Adjustment consisting of citizen members. The Committee of Adjustment operates as four panels: Etobicoke, North York, Toronto East York, and Scarborough. They regularly hold public hearings to consider applications for minor variances, permission and consents.

Building Toronto Together

Committee of Adjustment Public Hearing Schedules & Locations

Etobicoke York Schedule

Etobicoke Civic Centre
399 The West Mall
Toronto, Ontario
M9C 2Y2
(Wards 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 & 6)

York Civic Centre
2700 Eglinton Avenue West
Toronto, Ontario
M6M 1V1
(Wards 7, 11, 12, 13 & 17)

North York Schedule

North York Civic Centre
5100 Yonge Street
North York Ontario
M2N 5V7
(Wards 8, 9, 10, 15, 16, 23, 24, 25, 26, 33, 34)

Toronto & East York Schedule

Toronto City Hall
100 Queen Street W
Toronto, Ontario
M5H 2N2
(Wards 14, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32)

Committee of Adjustments - Definitions

ExpandMinor variances

Small changes or exceptions to existing land use or development restrictions contained in the zoning bylaw are called minor variances.


City of Toronto must grant consent for land transactions such as: to divide (sever) land into new lots, to add land to an abutting lot, to establish easements or rights-of-way and to lease or register a mortage over 21 years.