Cultural Partnerships

RSS Icon

Established by Toronto City Council in 1974, the Toronto Book Awards honour authors of books of literary or artistic merit that are evocative of Toronto. The annual awards offer $17,500 in prize money: finalists receive $1,500 and the winning author is awarded $10,000. This year marks the 43rd anniversary of the Toronto Book Awards.

Toronto Book Awards News

2017 Deadline Fast Approaching

Deadline for submissions to the 2017 Toronto Book Awards is April 30, 2017 (entries must be postmarked no later than this date).

Authors are eligible if their submission evokes the city itself, that is, contains some clear Toronto content (this may be reflected in the themes, settings, subjects, etc.). Authors do not necessarily have to reside in Toronto. To be eligible for the 2017 Toronto Book Awards, books must be published between June 1, 2016 and May 31, 2017 (publishers may submit galleys in lieu of published books for May 2017 releases).

The 2017 Toronto Book Awards will be handed out October 12 at the Toronto Reference Library's Bram and Bluma Appel Salon.

Cordelia Strube Wins the 2016 Toronto Book Award!

Congratulations to Cordelia Strube who was named winner of the 2016 Toronto Book Award on October 11 for her novel  On the Shores of Darkness, There is Lightpublished by ECW Press. 

Winner Cordelia Strube (above) and host Gill Deacon at the 42nd Annual Toronto Book Awards Gala (Photo Credit: Dennis Hanagan) 

2016 Finalists with Ward 29 Councillor at the 42nd Annual Toronto Book Awards Gala (from left, Cordelia Strube, Dr. Ellen Scheinberg, Michael McClelland, Tatum Taylor, Howard Akler, John Lorinc, Ann YK Choi, Marnie Woodrow, Councillor Fragedakis) (Photo Credit:  Dennis Hanagan)  

2016 Toronto Book Awards Finalists




Toronto Book Garden Breaks Ground

In 2014, Toronto City Council voted to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the Toronto Book Awards by creating a Toronto Book Garden. On Sunday, November 1, a ground breaking ceremony was held in front of Queen's Quay Terminal (207 Queens Quay West) attended by former mayor John Sewell (far left) who proposed the creation of the Toronto Book Awards in 1973, and by past TBA winners Helen Humphreys (1998), Rosemary Sullivan (1996), Guy Vanderhaeghe (1990), Rabindranath Maharaj (2011), Charlotte Gray (2014) and Richard B. Wright (1974). Former City Councillor Ceta Ramkhalawansingh (far right) conceived of the Book Garden and got the funding ball rolling while representing Ward 20 in 2014.

The garden -- to be completed by fall 2017 -- will feature the names of winning authors and book titles engraved in paving stones; new stones will be added each year.