Film in Toronto

Toronto Film, Television & Digital Media Board (Film Board)

The Toronto Film, Television & Digital Media Board (Film Board) provides advice to the Mayor and City Council on ways to strengthen and grow the film, television and digital media industries to ensure the competitiveness and viability of the sector.

Film Board background

The Board has worked on many issues of local concern and was one of the stakeholders that successfully lobbied Queen's Park to change the tax credit; spoke to Canadian content issues at the CRTC; and continues to promote Toronto as a great location for film, television and digital media productions.

Members appointed sit as individuals and not as representatives of any one organization. Their combined skills, qualifications and experience demonstrate the following:

  • Detailed knowledge of the screen-based industries (film, TV, interactive, commercials);
  • Links to key industry stakeholders;
  • Awareness of research, trends and projected changes in the industry;
  • Understanding of industry issues and risks for Toronto-based companies and work force;
  • Familiarity with by-laws, legislation and regulations governing the screen-based industries;
  • Connections to national organizations and agencies recommending policy and regulating the industry;
  • Success in marketing and promotion; and
  • Experience with business management, labour relations, strategic planning.

The term of office coincides with the term of Council (ends fall of 2018). The Board meets quarterly.

The Toronto Film Board is made up of 18 members of the public and three members of City Council:

Council members

Councillor Gary Crawford

Councillor Paula Fletcher, Chair

Councillor Norman Kelly

Industry members

Jonathan Ahee, President, NABET 700 UNIFOR

Neishaw Ali, Co-President, Computer Animation Studios of Ontario

Maxine Bailey, Vice-President, Advancement, TIFF

Douglas Barrett, Professor, Schulich School of Business

David Carter, President, Canada Film Capital

Ken Dhaliwal, Partner, LLP, Entertainment Law Group

Shelley Erikson, Writer and Executive Producer

Valerie Fox, Chief Innovation Officer, The Pivotal Point

Victoria Harding, Associate Executive Director, Directors Guild of Canada, Ontario

David Hardy, Vice President, Industry and Government Relations, Comweb Corp

Sarah Ker-Hornell, President, SKH Consulting

Cynthia Lynch, Managing Director and Counsel, FilmOntario

Louis Major, Vice President, Technicolor Canada

Peter Miller, Chair, Interactive Ontario

Jim Mirkopoulos, Vice President, Cinespace Film Studios

Monty Montgomerie, Business Agent, I.A.T.S.E. Local 873

Roger Nair, CEO, Roger Nair Productions

Warren Ross, Vice-President, National Industrial Relations & Senior Counsel, Canadian Media Producers Association

Jennifer Stewart, Director, Marketing & Development, The Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television

Back to: Overview