Media Room

Media Contacts

The Strategic Communications Division works with media on corporate issues, as well as major incidents and declared emergencies.

Strategic Communications

Director, Strategic Communications

Jackie DeSouza
416-397-5277, Jackie.Desouza@toronto.ca

Manager, Media Relations and Issues Management

Wynna Brown
416-392-8937, Wynna.Brown@toronto.ca

Media Relations and Issues Management

Deborah Blackstone
416-392-7377, Deborah.Blackstone@toronto.ca

Paula Chung
416-392-1649, Paula.Chung@toronto.ca

Andrea Gonsalves
416-397-4149, Andrea.Gonsalves@toronto.ca

Bob Langmaid
416-392-1165, Bob.Langmaid@toronto.ca

Salim Rachid
416-397-4221, Salim.Rachid@toronto.ca

Facilities Management, Fleet, Real Estate Services, Union Station

Natasha Hinds Fitzsimmins
416-392-8889, Natasha.HindsFitzsimmins@toronto.ca

Erin McGuey
416-392-9418, Erin.McGuey@toronto.ca

Treasurer's Office, Taxation, Parking Tickets and Purchasing, Information & Technology

Jennifer Zaniewski

416-338-5768, Jennifer.Zaniewski@toronto.ca

Communications, Manager

John Gosgnach
416-392-8386, John.Gosgnach@toronto.ca

Parks, Forestry and Recreation

Parks, Forestry and Recreation Media Line, 416-560-8726,pfrmedialine@toronto.ca

Children's Services

Aggie Fortier
416-397-5326, Aggie.Fortier@toronto.ca

Court Services

John Gosgnach
416-392-8386,John.Gosgnach@toronto.ca

Long-Term Care Homes & Services

Jennifer Wing
416-392-5349, Jennifer.Wing@toronto.ca

Employment and Social Services

Anna Fiorino
416-392-9052, Anna.Fiorino@toronto.ca

Economic Development and Culture

Shane Gerard
416-397-5711, Shane.Gerard@toronto.ca

Social Development, Finance and Administration, including Community Development, Community Safety, Social Policy, Analysis & Research, and Youth Employment Programs

John Gosgnach
416-392-8386, John.Gosgnach@toronto.ca

Jennifer Wing
416-392-5349, Jennifer.Wing@toronto.ca

Special Events

Justine Palinska
416-395-7318, Justine.Palinska@toronto.ca

Shelter, Support and Housing Administration, including Housing Connections

Patricia Anderson, Manager
416-397-4328, Patricia.Anderson@toronto.ca

Toronto Paramedic Services

(formerly Emergency Medical Services)

Kim McKinnon
416-392-2255,Kim.McKinnon@toronto.ca
After hours inquiries, 416-392-0000

Toronto Public Health

Lenore Bromley, Manager, Media Relations & Issues Management
416-338-7974, Lenore.Bromley@toronto.ca

Affordable Housing Office

Gil Hardy
416-397-4701, Gil.Hardy@toronto.ca

Manager, Communications & Consultation

Nicole Dufort
416-392-2963, Nicole.Dufort@toronto.ca

Solid Waste Management

Pat Barrett
416-392-4716,Pat.Barrett@toronto.ca

  • Waste disposal (e.g. landfill)
  • Organics (processing facilities, yard waste)
  • Curbside recycling, organics, garbage
  • Electronics recycling
  • In-store packaging reduction (plastic bag bylaw, etc.)
  • Charities rate and waste reduction
  • Solid Waste budget/user fees
  • Contracting out

Siobhan Ramsay
416-397-5001, Siobhan.Ramsay@toronto.ca

  • Multi-residential recycling, organics, garbage, electronics
  • Rigid plastics addition to recycling
  • Waste Wizard (online search tool)
  • Household Hazardous Waste
  • Reuse Centres (durable goods)
  • Contracting out

Toronto Water

Kazia Fraser
416-397-4062, Kazia.Fraser@toronto.ca 

  • Water Meter Program
  • Industrial/Commercial/Institutional (ICI) programs (Industrial Water Rate, Capacity Buy Back, Sewer Surcharge, Backflow Prevention)
  • Service delivery and response, including emergency repairs (water/sewermain breaks), preventative maintenance and service communications (frozen pipes, blocked drains, fire hydrants)
  • Capital construction (water/sewermain upgrades, stormwater pond management)
  • Customer Service 

Ellen Leesti
416-397-1403, Ellen.Leesti@toronto.ca

  • Stormwater management (Wet Weather Flow Master Plan, Don & Central Waterfront)
  • Basement flooding (Basement Flooding Protection and Subsidy Programs, Mandatory Downspout Disconnection)
  • Wastewater Treatment (wastewater treatment plants, biosolids)
  • Environmental Monitoring and Protection (Sewers Bylaw, Water Supply Bylaw, cross connections, pools)
  • Water Treatment and Supply (drinking water quality, low water pressure/no water, water treatment plants)
  • Lead issue, incl. Corrosion Control, lead testing, coordination with TPH, Priority and Capital Lead Water Service Replacement Programs, Faucet Filter Rebate Program
  • Community Outreach, incl. water efficiency (residential), HTO To Go water trailer program and other events/exhibits
  • Capital/Operating budget/water rate

Environment and Energy Office

Valerie Cassells
416-392-8306, Valerie.Cassells@toronto.ca

  • Extreme Weather portal
  • TransformTO and TalkTransformation
  • Climate change mitigation and adaptation
  • Resilient City Initiative
  • City's Environmental Report Card
  • Live Green Toronto program including Live Green Card, Live Green Toronto Awards, Live Green Toronto Festival, Live Green Toronto Volunteers and The Local Dish
  • Eco-Roof Incentive Program
  • Smart Commute Toronto-Central
  • Residential Energy and Water Efficiency Retrofit program (HELP Program) for houses
  • Urban agriculture/local food
Major Capital Infrastructure Co-ordination Office

Steve Johnston
416-392-4391, Steve.Johnston@toronto.ca

  • Major capital infrastructure coordination, TO INview
Engineering and Construction Services

Steve Johnston
416-392-4391, Steve.Johnston@toronto.ca

  • Design and construction
Transportation Services

Steve Johnston
416-392-4391, Steve.Johnston@toronto.ca

  • Winter operations (snow issues)
  • Road operations (potholes, construction, etc.)
  • Safety (red light running, pedestrian safety, etc.)
  • Cycling, bike lanes
  • Public Realm (street furniture, street art [graffiti art] Walking Strategy)
  • Capital budget
  • Transportation initiatives and long-term planning
  • Parking permit
City Planning

Bruce Hawkins
416-392-3496, Bruce.Hawkins@toronto.ca

  • Planning applications and related issues
  • Major planning initiatives (new bylaws)
  • Heritage Preservation and Archaeology
  • Toronto Urban Design Awards
  • Planning conferences, events, speakers, symposiums

Municipal Licensing and Standards
Tammy Robbinson
416-338-3761, Tammy.Robbinson@toronto.ca
  • Apartment building audits
  • Taxi Review
  • Licensing (taxis, mobile businesses and business licensing)
  • Permits (right of way for vending & cafes, temporary signs)
  • Enforcement of bylaws (illegal dumping, property standards) and permit conditions
  • Graffiti vandalism enforcement
  • Toronto Animal Services
Toronto Building

Bruce Hawkins
416-392-3496, Bruce.Hawkins@toronto.ca

  • Sign Bylaw Project
  • Implementation of the Zoning Bylaw
  • Enforcement of the Ontario Building Code
  • Building permits and inspections issues
  • Toronto Building events, promotions, and home shows
  • Construction incidents (accidents, cranes, falling pieces)
Toronto Fire Services

Media Line, 416-338-0763 (24/7)

Interviews with the mayor and councillors

To interview the mayor or a councillor, media should contact their offices directly.

Office of the Mayor

Don Peat, Director of Communications
416-338-3206, don.peat@toronto.ca

Councillors

To speak to a councillor directly, please contact their office.