Employment & Social Services

Ontario Works Payment Schedule

While receiving Ontario Works, payments are normally sent directly to your bank account. If you are receiving your payments by cheque, you can sign up for Direct Bank Deposit.

If you do NOT receive your payment, or if you receive an Employment and Social Services letter telling you that your payment is going to be delayed or stopped, contact your caseworker.

The following charts show the payment & replacement dates for 2015 and 2016.

2015 Payment Schedule
Benefit Month*Date of Payment &
Replacement Date
Feb Fri Jan 30
Mar Fri Feb 27
Apr Tue Mar 31
May Thu Apr 30
Jun Fri May 29
Jul Tue Jun 30
Aug Fri Jul 31
Sep Mon Aug 31
Oct Wed Sep 30
Nov Fri Oct 30
Dec  Mon Nov 30

2016 Payment Schedule
Benefit Month*Date of Payment &
Replacement Date
Jan Mon Dec 22
Feb Fri Jan 29
Mar Mon Feb 29
Apr Thu Mar 31
May Fri Apr 29
Jun Tue May 31
Jul Thu Jun 30
Aug Fri Jul 29
Sep Wed Aug 31
Oct Fri Sep 30
Nov Mon Oct 31
Dec  Wed Nov 30

* The date the Province prints on the cheque

The date the payment is received depends on Canada Post delivery to your area or the bank you deal with. 

You can learn specific information about your social assistance, including payment amounts and dates, through the Interactive Voice Response System, available to those who are receiving Ontario Works.