City divisions

Parks, Forestry & Recreation

The Parks, Forestry & Recreation Division ensures that people in the diverse communities of Toronto have full and equitable access to high-calibre, locally responsive recreation programs, efficiently operated facilities, and safe, clean and beautiful parks, open spaces, ravines and forests. The Division is organized into six branches:

  • Community Recreation
  • Parks
  • Urban Forestry
  • Management Services
  • Parks Development & Capital Projects
  • Policy & Strategic Planning

The Parks, Forestry & Recreation Division is responsible for:

  • the development and delivery of recreation programs to all ages;
  • facility management and maintenance;
  • community development, parks, horticulture and forestry programs, park and open space planning and environmental initiatives;
  • the operation of specialized services, including the ferries, golf courses, waterfront and regional parks systems.

Division summary